Switching from Tier 4 student visa to Global Talent visa

So, if I am on a Tier 4 student visa (because of my PhD study) can I apply for Stage 2 of Global Talent visa from within the UK or do I need to go back to my home country to apply for Stage 2?

2 Likes

Yes you can apply from the UK

3 Likes

@Mary_Godservant Thank you for your reply on this. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

hi @somdipdey! Congrats on your endorsement. A quick question: I am also a full-time PhD Student in UK (Tier4 visa), most likely completing my degree in November. Do I have to wait until I finish the degree to be able to apply for the Global Talent Visa (Stage2)?

2 Likes

@JBT Thank you for your kind words. I would suggest that don’t wait till you complete your PhD. If you can show all the evidences for endorsement correctly already then just apply as soon as possible. I also applied for the GT visa before I completed my viva.

1 Like

@somdipdey Congrats…Is it right if you are fully funded phd student on Tier-4, you can apply for GTV stage 2?

if you are in the UK and funded or have scholarship, they will need letter from you scholarship body. I am not sure if this question in stage 1 or 2 (I cant remember) however, i know once you confirm this in your application, they will need a letter in addition to your other evidences (Ex, PAssport ) for Stage 2,

@Maya Thank you for responding. My question is a little bit different…

Let say, one has scholarship for the PhD in the UK but not finished yet (in between). Is there any option to apply directly for stage 2?

My second question - not related to the previous one.
If one passed PhD viva (PhD from UK) and and got the job offer in the UK. What are the chances?

Thanks

For Global Talent you have to apply for Stage 1 unless you have an award that is recognised by Home Office.

once you have your endorsement, you can apply for stage 2 from the UK or outside. If you are in the UK you cannot apply if you are under specific visa type such as visit.