Endorsed for promise (technical) - CTO, co-founder, previously from academia

I just got endorsed for promise as a technical founder of my tech company.

This forum has been really helpful, so I’m hoping my experience can also be of use.

I’ll try to answer follow-up comments, but my feeling is that they really look at the overall application and body of evidence. Crafting a good story and tying it all together with your evidence is crucual.

Beyond the obvious stuff that they list in the guidelines, it’s not a tick-box exercise.

Some context

• I was an assistant professor up to 2020, and then joined Entrepreneur First in Singapore, which is how I started my company;

• I’m already in the UK on an innovator VISA—I got it for my startup in 2022;

• I decided to switch to GTV because of the greater freedom and uncertainty around startups in general, even your own;

• I’m 38 and applied for promise as I’ve been in a tech role since 2020, and was in academia prior—so age really isn’t a factor for promise endorsement.

Timeline

It took me 6 months (on and off) to compile everything and get the reference letters, and then:

• Submitted 7 Jan 2024

• First edit 10 Jan 2024

• Second edit 21 Jan 2024

• Third edit 22 Jan 2024

• Endorsement received 22 Jan 2024

I did NOT apply under the fast-track option.

Other useful posts

Perhaps I didn’t look properly, but I couldn’t find that many examples on here from technical founders. I know there are many first or early employees and CTOs.

This post, from another founder, really helped and encouraged me to apply:

Evidence strategy

My submission was mainly based on my startup and its achievements. Its achievements are moderate, but the way I packaged it was still good enough for promise:

1. Raised $550k pre-seed

2. Around $300k in revenue over three years with global clients

3. We peaked at 7 employees in 2021 (the good-old-days for startups)

4. Industry is AI planning tools for waste and recycling companies.