Please rate my application (Exceptional Promise)

Hi there, I’m in the last stages of curating my Exceptional Promise application. I’m eager to get opinions on the same and see if I could improve it in any way. Here’s an overview:

Desired occupation: Applied Researcher in Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Natural Language Processing (NLP), while simultaneously pursuing a PhD in AI at the University of Edinburgh (part-time) to aid my job

Optional Criteria: OC2, OC4

Biography: I am a researcher in NLP at the University of Edinburgh (UoE), where I’ve been working for a year. My most recent venture was on an EU-funded project revolving around creating Machine Translation models for the media giants, the BBC and the Deutsche Welle - where i led the creation of models in the Urdu language which, along with other translation models, are directly used by their journalists to aid global press activity (Evidence 7). I’ve also conducted academic NLP research as part of this role (Evidence 6). Previously, I interned at IBM Research which resulted in a full-paper publication at EMNLP 2021 - one of the two top-ranked conferences in NLP (Evidence 5) and a shout-out from the COO and VP of IBM.

I’ve also made a variety of community contributions - starting with open-source (Evidence 3), then more research-oriented as my focus shifted. I’ve thus contributed to premier AI research evaluation initatives (Evidences 1 and 2), given conference presentations (Evidence 4) and most recently, serving as reviewer for the highly prestigious EMNLP 2022 (latter half of Evidence 5)