Please help review: exceptional promise or exceptional talent (AI/ ML research scientist)

Hi, I am a research scientist in AI/ machine learning.

I have worked as a research scientist in one of the AI/ machine learning labs at FAANG for 1 year.

I’m not too sure how I should count the number of years in the field.

I started my Masters in machine learning in 2016, and my PhD in 2018. I graduated from my PhD in 2023. I started working at FAANG as an AI research scientist from end of 2022. I only have been working for a bit more than a year, but I have started my PhD in 2018, and masters even earlier in 2016. Im wondering if this means whether I have 8 / 6 or 1 year of experience in the industry.

In terms of other achievements,

• for papers and citations, I have more than 5000 citations and a h-index > 30.

• I have mentored/ advised more than 10 graduate students (Masters and PhD level).

• I have reviewed or area chaired for ICML, NeurIPS and ICLR. I have also reviewered journal papers, such as Nature papers before.

I would say Im fairly experienced in terms of research, but I have only been working for a bit more than a year. Im not too sure whether I should apply for exceptional promise or exceptional talent.

Any feedbacks or comments welcome, thanks.

@Francisca_Chiedu

1 Like

The mentoring evidence needs to be a structured program. I can’t advice on which track to go for as you need to prove justification for whichever you choose. For exceptional talent, you need to prove your track record in digital technology during the postgraduate years.

Some persons have the impression that postgraduate study period isn’t really “working” so it all depends on how you present your case and the amount of evidence to substantiate this.

1 Like

Since you got your PhD in 2023 you might be eligible for an HPI visa

1 Like

I think you should consider optional criteria 2 and 4.