Experienced Product Manager - Exceptional Talent

Hello Everyone,

I am an product manager with over 7 years experience that has built innovative and successful products with my team members at two product-led Fintech Unicorn Companies in Africa and Latin America respectively looking to apply for the Tech Nation Exceptional Talent Endorsement.

Please I would like to get some guidance from Product Managers who have received the endorsement on the best set of evidences and documents that I can provide to submit a strong application.

Thanks

Hi Ayo, I think the TN guide would help a lot - have you looked through it?

In my opinion, I’d definitely suggest having:

1. Your compensation for those 2 fintech - if you’ve received share options, show a screenshot or document to proof too
  2. Getting a recommendation letter from the CEO or C-level executives at those companies. Key things would be to answer TN’s key questions listed on the guide for LOR but don’t forget to highlight:
    2.1 Which teams did you own, the key successes (project or improvements)
    2.2 Citing numbers to back the claim of why those successes were game-changing for the company & hence played a part in perhaps bringing them towards Unicorn status
    2.3 How they think you’d be valuable for the UK tech industry

These 2 above would form the basic/fundamentals of your application.

Additional & critical evidence would be to show recognition or contribution OUTside of your work or at least from outside of your company. This could be:

1. Work outside your normal full-time job: e.g.
  • Any external advisory service that you might have provided to another company - so contract/compensation proof + letter of recommendation from the executives of those companies
  • Any talks/lectures you give at public conferences, and universities (photos, invitation letter, letter of recommendation from the key member of the organizing committee which states your contribution)