Exceptional Promise, software engineer trained via coding bootcamp?

Hello,

I am considering applying for the Global Talent visa under “exceptional promise”. I am currently a Senior Software Engineer at a large fintech company based in America. I have been working in software for about 5 years. I went to a large, well-known university (UC Berkeley), however I studied Political Science/Economics - then got my start in software afterwards via a 4-month coding bootcamp.

In addition to working in software for 5 years, I started a side business in the crypto world (not huge revenue, mostly stopped now), and have spoken at several meetups to groups of 100-150 people. I also believe I can get good referral letters from, and can provide excellent proof of earnings/promotions.

However, I have not contributed significantly to open source projects, and got my start outside of academia – meaning I have no CS degree of any level.

Will this make my application less likely to succeed? I am just starting the document collection process. I would also love suggestions about how to make my application stronger.

Thank you!

Hi!

I think you stand a solid chance. Emphasizing your entrepreneurial venture and speaking at meetups as contributions to your field would be a wise approach. If you’ve made any online contributions (personal website, technical blog posts, code tutorials, even projects from bootcamp if they were shared anywhere), that could count as evidence for technical contribution or recognition if those works received accolades.