[Endorsed] Product Manager - Exceptional Promise

Hi all! I received my endorsement for exceptional promise a couple of days ago and I wanted to share my experience, in the hopes of helping others. I decided to go about this by sharing some tips as opposed to detailing my entire case, because every case is different.

Profile Background

• I am currently based in the UK on a Skilled Worker visa
  • I have less than 5 years of experience working as a full-time Product Manager in the digital technology sector
  • All of my prior work experience is in the digital technology sector, specifically in product-led companies
  • All my letters of reference and support letters were written by senior or management-level (director level and above) product leaders, working in the digital technology sector

1. Recommenders: All of my recommenders were in some way leaders in the digital technology sector. This part is obviously really important. This doesn’t mean that they were all influencers with 1000s of followers, but they all had 7+ years of experience, were high-ranking (but not necessarily C-level), and served as mentors or were speakers at conferences etc. They were all from different companies. Only 1 of my recommenders worked with me for 12+ months as my manager. The others worked with me for less time, but I was able to prove we maintained a relationship/they were aware of my projects after our working relationship ended (via mentorship etc.)

2. Drafting the letters of recommendation: I highly recommend drafting the basis of the letters of recommendation ahead of time for your recommenders, as they are busy people (e.g. formatting the letter with a header and other relevant pieces of information). Be clear about the goal of the letters is and provide them with a detailed breakdown (or pre-drafted lines) for when you met, what projects you worked on etc.