[Endorsed] Exceptional Talent - Software Engineer

Hi all!

First of all I wanna thank all of you for posting your experiences here! I spent many an anxious afternoon reading posts on here before actually submitting my application and I’m glad it paid off. So I thought I would post my profile here to help anyone with a similar profile. Special shoutout to @Francisca_Chiedu, I found your comments very useful and they really helped me improve my application.

About me

I applied from inside the UK to switch from my Skilled Worker Visa (Tier 2). Originally from South America but I moved to the UK in 2019 and I’ve been working as a Software Engineer for a FAANG company in London for just under 4 years. Since last year big tech has been laying off thousands of people so I decided to apply to this visa in case I’m impacted (so far still employed, but now with the visa I’ll be able to stay in the UK if I’m laid off).

I have ~6 years of combined experience and graduated from university in Dec 2018 (worked at a few places while studying in university).

My application

My recommendation letters were as follows:

1. Current manager (Senior Eng Manager) from FAANG, talking about achievements in my team and my work outside of normal duties (mentorship and recruitment at FAANG).
  2. Previous manager from same company (Staff Software Engineer), talking about my achievements in my my work outside of normal duties (mentorship and recruitment at FAANG).
  3. Founder of the Startup I worked for before moving to UK, talking about my work, and my achievements outside of work.

My pieces of evidence were as follows:

1. Proof of my employment at FAANG, my latest P60 showing annual income and Statistics showing this is above the 98th percentile in UK Incomes.
  2. Evidence of recognitions from FAANG employer for impact outside of my regular work duties (mentoring interns and SWEs from underrepresented backgrounds).