Data Scientist Seeking Feedback - Exceptional Promise

Hi all,

Hope everyone is doing well! Thank you to all the posters and reviewers in this forum for your work- it has been enormously helpful to read and learn from you all. I am looking for specific feedback on my application as a Data Scientist applying for Exceptional Promise. I graduated 3 years ago from university and have been working at Microsoft for the past three years in the same role.

Specific Questions:

1. Not sure who to pick for my third recommendation letter, and worried that because my only >6 month job experience is at the same company, I can only pick recommenders from within this company. Is this a big concern that all my LoR and evidence are from the same job?
  2. Struggling to come up with “enough” evidence outside of rec letters and case studies on projects completed. I do not have experience speaking on panels or doing side projects outside of my work, nor substantive research experience. Is the listed evidence sufficient, or do I need to seek out opportunities that would strengthen this application first before submitting?

Recommendation Letters

1. Mentor and Principal Data Scientist at company and leader of internal data science blog
  2. Senior Data Scientist at company with previous experience at other FAANG company
  3. [POTENTIAL] Mentor from internship (6 months), now tech lead at other FAANG company, published data science author
  4. [POTENTIAL] Principal data scientist who is currently skip and was previous boss
  5. [POTENTIAL] Senior Data Scientist at company with whom I’ve collaborated often

Mandatory Criteria

1. Proof of high earning salary with comparison to comparable salaries in city/role translated to pounds
  2. Proof of success in job - promotion letter, stock bonuses, positive feedback documented in internal review forum