2 questions - Can I include my academic work for Exceptional Promise or would it turn me into Exceptional Talent? and 2) Business or Technical?

Hi wonderful people, I would appreciate opinions on two things:

1. if I include my academic work, can I still apply as global promise, or only talent because my Phd started in 2017?
  2. Would it make more sense for my to apply as a technically savvy business applicant or business savvy technical applicant?

I was a PhD student in the sciences from 2017 - 2020. During my studies, I was the statistician for my lab. I did a lot of analysis of animal tracks using R for stats and coding and tags. During this time I became a world expert in the field and also published some groundbreaking papers around the stats.

In 2021 I left academia and founded my own edtech company, and in 2022 I joined VC. I’m departing VC to go back into tech.

For question 1)
I would like to include my academic papers and recognitions if possible, because that is that area in which I have received the most recognition. I have been told by some that I could fold that under the academic category as it involved tech as well as coding. However, if I include my PhD, will I be saying that I have been in the digital technology sector for more than 5 years, therefore disqualifying me from global promise? Does academia qualify in your timeline (Maybe worth noting though - the paper published was 2020, and a talk was 2019)? I’m also a little confused as to how one includes academia in general, because nothing in academia is a digital technology led product as they aren’t making money off the work.

For question 2)

I have gotten differing opinions on whether to apply for business or tech tracks.