Trying to decide whether to apply: Is this a viable case for Exceptional Talent?

Hi everyone.

I recently came across GTV and think it could be a good opportunity for me. However, as I’m getting ready for the application, I have a growing worry that my case may be too weak.

I have learned a good deal from this forum, so I’m posting my background and all pieces of evidence below. Any comment/advice is greatly appreciated!

I live in the US. I hold a CS PhD and have 10+ years of work experience. I have worked only one job in the past 5 years: I joined a startup in the autonomous driving space in 2016 as a founding engineer. The startup grew to 260 people and was acquired by a top AI company in 2021. I was VP of engineering at the time of acquisition.

After 2021, I took a break from my career till now. I have nothing to say for the past two years except for a few undergrad/graduate-level guest lectures and paper reviews for CS conferences and journals.

I did publish 10+ patents during my startup time. They certainly made a big difference in the valuation (or even life and death) of the company. The problem is, I had zero media coverage.

Here is my list of evidence and my plan on how to use them:

MC

1. A list of 3-4 patents
  2. Appreciation letters from guest lectures
  3. Invitations to paper reviews

OC1

1. A list of 3-4 patents
  2. A letter from previous colleague to assert the innovative nature of the above patents

OC3

1. A list of 3-4 patents
  2. A letter from previous colleague to assert the business impact of the above patents
  3. High salary

For LoRs, I plan to get the C-level people of my previous startup to talk about my leadership and expertise, but the context would be within the company. Optionally, I could get one from my PhD advisor (who knows my startup work via the guest lecture in the past 5 years) to support me from a different angle.